Human Rights Program Faculty & Leadership


Caroline S. Bettinger-Lopez

Professor of Law
Director, Human Rights Clinic; Faculty Chair, Human Rights Program

(305) 284-5923
Caroline Bettinger-López is currently on leave while serving as a Senior Advisor on Gender and Equality at the U.S. Department of Justice. In Fall 2021, she served as a Senior Advisor to the White House Gender Policy Council. Caroline Bettinger-López is a Professor of Law and Director of the Human...

Tamar Ezer

Lecturer in Law
Acting Director, Human Rights Clinic; Faculty Director, Human Rights Program

(305) 284-6926
Tamar Ezer is the Acting Director and a Lecturer in Law with the Human Rights Clinic and the Faculty Director of the Human Rights Program. Prior to that, Ezer taught and supervised projects at Yale Law School as a Lecturer in Law, Visiting Scholar with the Schell Center for International Human...

R. Denisse Cordova Montes

Lecturer in Law
Acting Associate Director, Human Rights Clinic

(305) 284-2939
Denisse Córdova Montes is Acting Associate Director in the Human Rights Clinic at the University of Miami School of Law. From 2012 to 2018, Córdova Montes was based in Germany, where she coordinated the Gender and Women’s Rights Program at FIAN International, an international human rights...

Core Faculty

Core faculty with human rights expertise include the Human Rights Program’s leadership and the faculty members below:

Paula C Arias

Lecturer in Law
Director, International Moot Court Program

(305) 284-1154
Paula Arias, director of the International Moot Court Program and lecturer in law, was born and raised in Medellin, Colombia. Arias graduated from the Universidad Pontificia Bolivariana in Colombia in 2003, where she obtained a Juris Doctor equivalent degree. Her graduation thesis was entitled "Ineffectiveness of the...

Elizabeth Mathilde Iglesias

Professor of Law
Director, Doctor of Juridical Science (S.J.D.) Program

(305) 284-4050
Professor Iglesias holds a BA (magna cum laude) from the University of Michigan and a JD (with honors) from Yale Law School. She is the co-founder of Latina and Latino Critical Theory, Inc. (LatCrit, Inc.) which she incorporated in 1998 and co-directed until 2003. In 1997, she designed the Project for Legal Economic, Development, Justice and...

Marcia Narine Weldon

Lecturer in Law
Director, Transactional Skills Program; Faculty Coordinator, Business Compliance & Sustainability Concentration

(305) 333-9352
Professor Narine Weldon is the director of the Transactional Skills Program, Faculty Coordinator of the Business Compliance & Sustainability Concentration, Transactional Law Concentration, and a Lecturer in Law. She earned her law degree, cum laude, from Harvard Law School, and her undergraduate degree,...

Pablo Rueda Saiz

Associate Professor of Law

(305) 284-5401
The primary interests of Professor Rueda-Saiz include international and comparative constitutional law, law and society, social movements, armed conflict, and globalization. He has taught law at the University of Wisconsin, at the Justus-Liebig University in Giessen, Germany, and at the Universities of El Rosario and Los Andes in Colombia. He...

Stephen J. Schnably

Professor of Law

(305) 284-4817
Stephen J. Schnably is Professor of Law at the University of Miami School of Law. He received an A.B. cum laude from Harvard College in 1976 and a J.D. magna cum laude from Harvard Law School in 1981, where he served as Notes Editor of the Harvard Law Review. Following graduation, Professor Schnably served as...

Irwin P. Stotzky

Professor of Law

(305) 284-2549
Irwin P. Stotzky is currently Professor of Law at the University of Miami School of Law. He is the founder and served as the Director of the University of Miami Center for the Study of Human Rights from 1993-2010. He received his J.D. from the University of Chicago Law School in 1974. In 1986-88, he was a Visiting Scholar at the Yale Law School....

Affiliated Faculty

Additionally, the Human Rights Program includes the following Miami Law faculty who teach, research or work in the area of human rights:

- David Abraham, Professor of Law Emeritus
- Sara Baez, Associate Director, Programs
- Sharon Booth, Associate Director, Programs
- Caroline Bradley, Professor of Law; Dean's Distinguished Scholar; Associate Dean, International and                    Graduate Programs
- Donna K. Coker, Professor of Law
- Caroline Mala Corbin, Professor of Law; Dean's Distinguished Scholar
- Andrew Elmore, Associate Professor of Law
- Mary Anne Franks, Professor of Law and Dean's Distinguished Scholar
- Sandra Friedrich, Assistant Dean, International Graduate Law Programs; Director, International                            Arbitration; Lecturer in Law
- Abigail Fleming, Associate Director, Environmental Justice Clinic; Lecturer in Law
- Robert Latham, Associate Director, Children and Youth Law Clinic; Lecturer in Law
- Marni Lennon, Assistant Dean, Public Interest and Pro Bono; Director, HOPE Public Interest                                  Resource Center; Lecturer in Law
- JoNel Newman, Associate Professor of Clinical Legal Education; Director, Health Rights Clinic,
- James W. Nickel, Professor of Law and Philosophy Emeritus
- Bernard Oxman, Richard A. Hausler Professor of Law
- Jessica Owley, Professor of Law; Faculty Director, Environmental Law Program.
- Bernard P. Perlmutter, Professor of Law; Co-Director, Children & Youth Law Clinic
- Madeleine Plasencia, Visiting Professor of Law/Scholar
- Ileana Porras, Senior Lecturer
- Doug Ruley, Associate Professor of Clinical Legal Education; Director, Environmental Justice Clinic
- Robin Schard, Librarian Professor; Director, Law Library
- Gabriel Scheffler, Associate Professor of Law
- Rebecca Sharpless, Professor of Law; Director, Immigration Clinic,
- Kele Stewart, Professor of Law; Co-Director, Children and Youth Law Clinic
- Melissa Swain, Associate Director, Health Rights Clinic; Lecturer in Law
- Craig Trocino, Associate Professor of Clinical Education; Director, Innocence Clinic

Visiting Faculty & Scholars

HRP is further pleased to host the following visiting faculty and Scholars:


- Daniel Magraw, Visiting Professor


- Javier García Amez, Visiting Researcher, Human Rights Program
- Shana Tabak, Senior Fellow, Human Rights Clinic
- Christina M. Fetterhoff, Fellow, Human Rights Clinic