Homecoming 2021 Features Marquee Headliners Former U.S. Attorney Preet Bharara and Money Court's Katie Phang JD '00


katie Phang and Preet Bahara talking

Katie S. Phang, J.D. ‘00 and Preet Bharara

Former U.S. Attorney Preet Bharara and Money Court co-host Katie Phang joined Miami Law graduates for a conversation at Morning Spirits, part of Homecoming 2021.

Preet Bharara, former U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York and bestselling author, and trial attorney and media relations and crisis management consultant Katie S. Phang, J.D. ‘00, held a conversation at this year’s “Morning Spirits” November 6.

Bharara, an Obama appointment unanimously confirmed by the Senate, is the author “Doing Justice: A Prosecutor's Thoughts on Crime, Punishment, and the Rule of Law,” wherein Bharara combines illustrative anecdotes with case histories from his storied, formidable career—the successes as well as the failures—to shed light on the realities of the legal system and the consequences of taking action. There is also a companion podcast of the same name.

The Indian-born American lawyer also hosts the podcast “Stay Tuned with Preet,” where he breaks down legal topics in the news and engages thought leaders in a podcast about power, policy, and justice. He is a Distinguished Scholar in Residence and an adjunct professor at New York University School of Law.

As U.S. Attorney, Bharara oversaw the investigation and litigation of all criminal and civil cases brought on behalf of the United States in the Southern District of New York, an office of more than 200 assistant U.S. attorneys. According to The New York Times, Bharara was one of the "one of the nation’s most aggressive and outspoken prosecutors of public corruption and Wall Street crime” during his tenure.

Miami Law graduate/NBC legal analyst

Phang is the co-founder of Phang & Feldman P.A. and has provided legal analysis for network and cable news since 2005 and currently co-host of CNBC’s new show "Money Court" alongside Kevin O’Leary, and Ada Pozo, J.D. ’97. As a legal contributor for NBC News/MSNBC, Katie leverages her significant trial experience to provide analysis and commentary on the latest legal issues across the globe.

She recently authored and edited the 10th Edition of the “Florida Practitioner’s Guide: Civil Trial Preparation,” which is designed to guide the attorney through all phases of trial preparation, from interviewing the client to preparing the closing argument and jury instructions.

The Yale University graduate also provides media training for television, radio, and digital media appearances and is an adjunct professor of litigation skills at the University of Miami School of Law and is a recent past-president of the Miami-Dade Chapter of the Florida Association for Women Lawyers. She is the chair of a Florida Bar Grievance Committee and is a presidential appointee to the board of directors of the University of Miami Law Alumni Association.

Other law school-centered events included a celebration of former assistant dean for Professional Development, William P. VanderWyden III and other class reunion gatherings.

Law Alumni Association Awards

Julie Braman Kane, president of the Law Alumni Association, presented the following 2021 awards at the breakfast:

Marcelyn “Marcy” Cox, former dean of the Career Development Office, and Therese Lambert, retired director of Student Recruitment and Enrollment, received the Thomas Davison, III Memorial Service Award, established to honor the memory of the late Thomas Davison, III, J.D. ’49, a dedicated volunteer, past president of the Law Alumni Association and former member of the Board of Trustees who led by example.

Jaret L. Davis, J.D. ’99 received the Henry “Lat” Latimer, J.D. ’73, Professionalism Award established to honor another distinguished alumnus former UM trustee. Lat was a member of the Florida Bar Board of Governors at the time of his death and a partner at the law firm of Greenberg Traurig. He served on the Judiciary and was a mentor to countless in our community. He also served on the LAA Board of Directors.

Kelly M. Malloy, 3L, president of the Miami Law Student Bar Association, received the Joseph H. Bogosian Student Leadership Award, established by a former president of the Student Bar Association, Joe Bogosian, J.D.’92, to recognize leadership and service. The recipient is selected upon the recommendation of the Dean of Students.

Alessandria San Roman, J.D. ’18, former president of the SBA and active member of the Young Alumni Committee received the Young Alumni Award.

Miami Law Women presented the Mary E. Doyle Award to Marcia Narine Weldon.

The Papy Moot Court Board presented the M. Minnette Massey Moot Court Award to Magistrate Judge Edwin G. Torres.

The University of Miami Law Review presented the Daniel E. Murray Service Award to Nicole Comparato, J.D.’17.

Second-year law student Monica Larsen received the inaugural Miguel Perez Law Award, given to a first-generation law student. Perez is a third-year law student.

Kane and Timothy Kolaya, J.D. ’08, as outgoing and incoming presidents of the LAA and in recognition of exemplary service, received the Law Alumni Association President’s Awards.

See all alumni news.
See all homecoming alumni breakfast photos.