Moot Court Team Crowned Champions at CKP Bankruptcy Competition



CKP Cup winners

Leandra Lopez (2L), Kevin Stone (2L), and Tony Bell (3L)

Charles C. Papy, Jr. Moot Court board members Tony Bell, 3L, Kevin Stone, 2L, and Leandra Lopez, 2L, won first place at the 10th Annual Cristol Kahn Paskay Cup Eleventh Circuit Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition hosted by the University of Miami. Bell was also awarded second best oralist in the competition.

The CKP Cup, which was held virtually for the first time, serves as the regional warm-up for the Duberstein National Bankruptcy Competition. Law schools from the Eleventh Circuit (Florida, Georgia, and Alabama) compete in the CKP before competing in the national bankruptcy competition. Miami Law also came in first place in 2020, in 2019, in 2018in 2016, and in 2015.

“Winning the Cristol Kahn Paskay Cup is a highlight of the season,” said Lopez. “Our team has been preparing for months, and we are thrilled to compete at the 29th Annual Duberstein Competition. Our coaching team has been critical to our success. They have spent countless hours discussing strategy and conducting practice oral arguments. Their feedback has not only put us in a better position to win, but it has helped us become better oral advocates.”

The Duberstein Bankruptcy Moot Court Competition is widely recognized as one of the nation’s preeminent moot court competitions. The competition promotes and recognizes the finest oral and written advocacy on significant issues in bankruptcy practice.

"It felt great to win the CKP Cup, especially because it's hosted by our university and our moot court board,” said Stone. “Preparing for the CKP cup and the Duberstein competition go hand-in-hand. Although we work tirelessly to perfect our arguments, the long hours fly by because of the incredible coaches with which we are so fortunate to work. I'm also very fortunate to have been able to work with two awesome teammates – Tony and Leandra are always on their game and motivate me to be at my best every single practice round."

The team was coached by Bankruptcy Clinic Director Professor Patricia Redmond, Freddi Mack, J.D. ’14, Nicole McLemore, J.D. ’19, and Dan Halperin, J.D. ’18. The final round of judges was made up of G. Eric Brunstad, Jr., the Honorable Bess Creswell, the Honorable Maria Ellena Chavez-Ruark, the Honorable Mary Grace Diehl, the Honorable Laurel M. Isicoff, the Honorable Robert A. Mark, the Honorable Mindy Mora, and the Honorable Peter D. Russin.

“The team dynamic makes every practice round and team meeting enjoyable,” said Bell. “We have amazing coaches who are dedicated to our growth as advocates. It felt great to make them proud at CKP, and I look forward to representing Miami Law at the Duberstein competition.”

Read more about Miami Law’s Litigation, Arbitration and Dispute Resolution Programs