Litigation Skills Program Awards Scholarships to Top Students



Litigation Skills winners

Litigation Skills scholarship winners

Miami Law's Litigation Skills Program recently awarded seven scholarships to top students who distinguished themselves through their hard work and talent.

Catherine Talley accepted two of the awards given to students enrolled in the semester-long Litigation Skills I course. She received the Thomas Ewald Memorial Award, given to a student who best exemplifies the devotion to high standards and ethical conduct followed by Thomas Ewald. This award comes with a Montblanc pen – an homage to the late Ewald, the Miami Law trial advocacy professor who was known to carry the pen in his shirt pocket. Talley also received the Hon. Stanford Blake Award. This is a $500 cash prize given to a 2L or 3L who has excelled in Trial Skills.

Kelsey Caudill and Fabian Garcia each were awarded the John F. Evans Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $3,000. This scholarship was established in 1989 in memory of John F. Evans, a criminal defense attorney, former deputy chief of the U.S. State Department's Miami Strike Force, and founding partner of the law firm of Zuckerman, Spaeder, Taylor, and Evans.

Ted Delcima received the Kozyak Tropin & Throckmorton Scholarship in the amount of $5,000. Established in 1995 by one of Miami’s leading law firms, it is awarded to a minority law student who has completed Litigation Skills and has expressed an interest in trial advocacy.

Leandra Lopez was awarded the Litigation Skills Adjunct Faculty Scholarship in the amount of $3,000. It is awarded to a second- or third-year student who has demonstrated excellence in advocacy, professionalism, and civility in the Lit Skills I class, and has demonstrated financial need.

Rosana Fernandez and Nicholas Beekhuizen each received the Marco A. Vazquez Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $5,000. This scholarship was established in 1996 in memory of a former Miami Law and Litigation Skills Program graduate.

Natalie Whitacre received the Honorable Theodore Klein Endowed Scholarship in the amount of $3,500. This scholarship was established in 2006 in memory of a former Litigation Skills Faculty member, Law Professor and U. S. Magistrate Judge who was recognized as a leader among his peers.

Katherine Padron and Alandra Alonso received the Director’s Book Award. The award is given to a student(s) who shows great promise in trial advocacy.

Read more about the Litigation Skills Program at Miami Law.
More on Litigation, Arbitration and Dispute Resolution at Miami Law