Litigation Skills Program Awards Scholarships to Top Students


Miami Law’s Litigation Skills Program recently awarded six scholarships to its top students who distinguished themselves through their hard work and talent.

Jeremy Gale accepted two of the awards – the Thomas Ewald Memorial Award and the Honorable Theodore Klein Endowed Scholarship.  The Thomas Ewald Memorial Award is given to a student who best exemplifies the devotion to high standards and ethical conduct followed by Thomas Ewald. This award comes with a Montblanc pen - homage to the late Ewald, the Miami Law litigation professor who was known to carry the pen in his shirt pocket.  The Honorable Theodore Klein Endowed Scholarship was established in 2006 in memory of Theodore Klein, an outstanding lawyer, Law Professor, and Federal Magistrate, and is awarded each semester to a rising second or third year law student who has demonstrated ability and excellence in oral and written advocacy and a strong commitment to public service.

Amanda Preston was awarded the Kozyak Tropin & Throckmorton Scholarship. As part of her winnings, she received from the law firm a $10,000 scholarship, which is awarded to one minority law student who has completed the Litigation Skills program and has expressed an interest in trial advocacy. Kozyak Tropin & Throckmorton have been donating their time and funds to Miami Law's Litigation Skills Program since its establishment in 1995. The law firm has also hired Miami Law graduates who have taken courses the Program offers.

Additional winners included:

•    Brian McBride & Neda Ghomeshi each received the John F. Evans Memorial Scholarship, a $2,000 award, which was established in 1989 in memory of John F. Evans, criminal defense attorney, former deputy chief of the US State Department’s Miami Strike Force, and founding partner of the law firm of Zuckerman, Spaeder, Taylor and Evans.  
•    Christina Caitlin Giles took home the Litigation Skills Adjunct Faculty Recognition Award which is awarded to a second or third year students who has demonstrated excellence in advocacy, professionalism and civility in the Lit Skills I class.
•    Stephanie Roy received the Marco A. Vazquez Memorial Scholarship, a $8,000 award which was established in 1996 in memory of a former Miami Law graduate.