Miami Law Welcomes the 2015-16 Student Bar Association


Matt Deblinger, Stephanie Lopez, Jordan Lewis, Chase Howard & Bryston Stafford

Matt Deblinger, Stephanie Lopez, Jordan Lewis, Chase Howard & Bryston Stafford 

The 2015-16 Student Bar Association was sworn in at Miami Law’s annual Passing the Gavel ceremony. Matthew Deblinger was elected as President of the Student Bar Association (SBA) for the upcoming academic year. He has taken an active role on the Miami Law campus, coordinating multiple fundraisers for underprivileged members of the community and organizing a networking dinner for 120 students and practitioners earlier this year.

“I am honored and excited to work with the Student Bar Association on what promises to be a landmark year at Miami Law,” said Deblinger. “We have an eclectic group of ambitious leaders, and we look forward to rolling up our sleeves and focusing on what’s important."

The other elected members are Stephanie Lopez, Vice President; Jordan Lewis, Treasurer; Chase Howard, Secretary; Aisha Alcaraz, Historian; and BA Stafford, ABA Representative.

The 3L Senators are Ana Causo, Andre Raikhelson, Anthony Dennis, Joey Feldman, Justin Gelzayd, and Melissa Jordon. The 2L Senators are Alyssa Giordano, Elise Haverman, Feras Ahmed, Johnny Bartz, J.P. Shami, and Sarah Usman. J.P. Shami will serve as Speaker of the Senate.

Deblinger has appointed former senators Jessica Neer and Patrick Rostock as the SBA Chief of Staff and SBA Attorney General, respectively. He is also currently interviewing law students to serve as Justices on the SBA Supreme Court, and Student Representatives on the Law Alumni Board of Directors.

During his campaign, Deblinger pledged to introduce new networking opportunities, make the SBA more visible on campus, and work with the law school deans to improve Miami Law’s prestige in the national eye.

"I would also like to take this opportunity to thank the outgoing SBA leaders, including outgoing SBA President Sara Solano, for their diligent efforts over the past year,” said Deblinger.

The SBA Senate and executive board members meet biweekly, and all law students are encouraged to attend.