Miami Law’s Patricia Redmond to Receive the Lawyers in Leadership Award


Miami Law’s Patricia A. Redmond, director of the Eleanor R. Cristol and Judge A. Jay Cristol Bankruptcy Pro Bono Assistance Clinic, will be honored with the Lawyers in Leadership Award by Miami Law's Center for Ethics and Public Service on February 13. The award recognizes leading members of the Florida bar and bench who are distinguished by their dedication to public citizenship and leadership.

“Professor Patricia Redmond is a national leader in the field of bankruptcy, a committed and gifted teacher, and a mentor and role model for a generation of Florida lawyers,” said Professor Anthony V. Alfieri, Director of the Center for Ethics and Public Service. “We are privileged to honor her with the Lawyers in Leadership Award.”

Redmond, a Miami Law alumna and a shareholder in the Business Restructuring Department of Stearns, Weaver, Miller, Weissler, Alhadeff & Sitterson, P.A. in Miami, is President of the American Bankruptcy Institute.

Redmond's bankruptcy practice focuses on creditors' rights and insolvency counseling in bankruptcy court and in out-of-court workouts. She has been recognized on numerous lists, including Chambers USA America's Leading Lawyers for Business and The Best Lawyers in America, and is a recipient of the Dade County Bar Association's Pro Bono Award. At Miami Law, Redmond teaches Bankruptcy and Reorganization in Bankruptcy, a seminar that studies issues raised by Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code.

As the director of the Bankruptcy Assistance Clinic at Miami Law, Redmond helps students offer pro bono legal services to low-income individuals who are dealing with bankruptcy. The clinic, established by the Bankruptcy Bar Association of the Southern District of Florida, is a two-semester, six-credit elective that pairs students into teams. Clients are referred to the clinic by the Dade County Bar Association, and sitting judges of the Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Florida.

Previous recipients of the Lawyers in Leadership Award include University of Miami President Emeritus Edward T. Foote II, the Hon. Henry Latimer, Joseph P. Klock, Ellen Catsman Freidin, Richard C. Milstein, the Hon. Joan A. Lenard, Carlos M. de la Cruz, H.T. Smith, Jeannette F. Hausler, M. Minnette Massey, Edna Shalala, the Honorable Peter R. Palermo, Cheryl Little, Kathleen Williams, Marcia K. Cypen and Joseph Centorino.