Winners of Gaubatz Competition Announced at Miami Law


Twenty-five law students have been invited to join the Charles C. Papy, Jr. Moot Court Board as a result of their stellar performances in the John T. Gaubatz Competition, the main moot court contest at Miami Law. More than 100 students competed this year.

The final round followed two days of rigorous oral arguments, during which competitors argued before judging panels made up of Moot Court Board members, local judges, and distinguished attorneys from the community.

This year's problem involved an issue of immigration law. The final two teams – one comprised of Jordan Redavid and Frank Sardinha, the other of Abe Rubert-Schewel and Lowell Karr – faced off in appellate oral argument in front of a three-judge panel, which consisted of the Hon. Federico A. Moreno, JD '78, Chief Judge of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida; the Hon. Stephen Mander, a U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Judge; and Gracian Celaya, Deputy Chief Counsel in the Miami office of Immigration and Customs Enforcement. The team of Redavid and Sardinha ultimately won the competition.

The top 25 performers were Lia Calabro, Blaze Douglas, Alexandra Hayes, Lowell Karr, Renee Kramer, Andrea Lehner, Freddi Mack, Sean Maye, Daniel McDermott, Kyle Ohlenschlaeger, Brian Oliver, Lauren Lee Pettiette, Richard Preston, Jordan Redavid, Alison Rioux, Abraham Rubert-Schewel, Brendan Ryan, James Sadler, Frank Sardinha, Bridget Schultz, Danielle Singer, Jonathan Stamm, Andrew Verblow, Joseph Wasserkrug, Eamon Welch, Thomas White and Jenna Winchester.

Their names will be placed on the Gaubatz Competition Champion's Cup, which is displayed in the Law Library. The competition is named in memory of Miami Law Professor John T. Gaubatz, who directed both the graduate program on estate planning and the Philip E. Heckerling Institute on Estate Planning.