Miami-Dade Judicial Reception Honors Profession's Finest


With a backdrop of the blue waters of Biscayne Bay viewed from thirty floors above Brickell Avenue, the Law Alumni Association last week held its annual Miami-Dade Judicial Reception, a chance for old school chums to greet each other over drinks and canapés, and for a few to be honored.

The guests at the reception in the Sabadell Bank building were welcomed by Devang Desai, JD '03, the President of the Law Alumni Association, and he in turn introduced Patricia D. White, Dean of the School of Law, who presented the awards.

The Alumni Leadership award, established by the Law Alumni Association to recognize individuals who have been elected to serve in leadership roles, was given to Alexandra Bach Lagos, JD '06, a member of the National Product Liability Division at Shook, Hardy & Bacon and a former President of the Florida Association of Women Lawyers.

The next honor, the Alumni Achievement Award, recognizes alumni from around the country who have excelled in their chosen field and in service to the University of Miami and the legal profession. The first of two recipients of the award was Laurel M. Isicoff, JD '82, of the U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Florida. She was sworn to the post in 2006, the first woman to do so.

The second former Miami Law student to receive the Alumni Achievement Award was Judge Richard J. Suarez, JD '81, of the Third District Court of Appeal for the Southern District of Florida.

Each of the three received a clock with a framed photograph of the recipient in much younger days, while a student at the law school. At seeing their innocent faces, they invariably laughed.

Desai thanked the event's hosts, Sabadell Bank's Executive Vice President Dwight L. Hill and Terry Biddulph and Bert DeArmas, both Senior Vice Presidents, for their kindness.