Dean's Fellows Honored at 17th Annual Academic Achievement Recognition Luncheon


Miami Law's Academic Achievement Program celebrated the dedication and hard work of its Dean's Fellows on Tuesday. Dean's Fellows are upper-level students who hold weekly study groups for a specific class. The Fellows are individuals who excelled academically in that class and their job is to help facilitate the 1L's independent learning by focusing on learning strategies, organization skills, time management and exam preparation.

Each Dean's Fellow received a certificate and third-year Fellows received engraved medallions to be worn at graduation. Several Dean's Fellows received special recognition for outstanding service and commitment to the Academic Achievement Program.

It was a room filled with "exceptional group of students" Dean White pointed out.

The students weren't alone in accepting the honors, however.

"Everyone owns a little piece of this," said Joanne Koren, Director of the Academic Achievement Program, who started the Dean's Fellow program in 1994 with 12 Fellows. The program has since grown tremendously. Last semester, there were 46 Dean's Fellows at Miami Law.

Koren addressed the audience, which included Dean Emeritus and Professor of Law Dennis Lynch, Assistant Dean Marcy Cox as well as former Fellow, Marni Lennon, now the Assistant Dean for Public Interest and Pro Bono. Koren recognized members of the faculty and administration who played a vital role in making the annual Academic Achievement Recognition luncheon possible.

To produce a collaborative academic model that involves the support of so many people isn't easy says Koren.

"It's a lot of moving parts that have to come into play and they're each important," said Koren.

The following students were honored for outstanding service and dedication to the Academic Achievement Program:

  • Asra Chatham
  • Annery Pulgar Alfonso
  • Wendi Ribaudo
  • Mallory Gold
  • Nicole Messamore
  • Daniel Schwarz
  • Melanie Fernandez

For more information on the Dean's Fellow program, click here.