Miami Law International Graduate Law Programs

2015-2016 Young ICCA/Miami Law LL.M. Scholarship Competition

Home   >  International Graduate Law Programs   >  2015-2016 Young ICCA/Miami Law LL.M. Scholarship Competition

ICCA logo
Miami Law

University of Miami School of Law and Young ICCA are pleased to announce its competition is now open for a full-tuition scholarship available to be awarded to an outstanding Young ICCA member to attend the University of Miami's International Arbitration LL.M. The winner is chosen on the basis of an essay competition and an assessment of skills and achievements.


For this competition, candidates must submit an online application* with $50 application fee for the LL.M. program. They must also submit the following documents to by Friday, May 1, 2015:

  • A written essay of no more than 6000 words. The essay should also include an executive summary of no more than 500 words. Proposed essay topics include:

    • What is the effect of international arbitration on public governance?
    • May investors pursuing a claim against a State rely on more than one treaty?
    • What is the consequence of a State's failure to respect the New York Convention?
    • What are the ethical dimensions of the functions of international arbitral institutions?
  • TOEFL score (minimum of 92)
  • personal statement*
  • 2 letters of recommendation
  • official transcripts
  • notarized copy of diploma
  • resume

For a full description of the required documents listed above, excluding the essay, please visit our Apply Now webpage.

* Candidates must indicate in their personal statements that they are applying to the UM/Young ICCA scholarship and should include "UM/Young ICCA scholarship" in the subject line of any e-mails to

Decision on the scholarship recipient shall be made by the end of May, 2015.


Liliia IemchenkoUkrainian Liliia Iemchenko was named the 2015 Miami Law/Young ICCA Scholar. Read More.

Eric van EykenThe winner of this year's Miami Law/Young ICCA scholarship award is Eric van Eyken. Read more

Wamiq ChowdhuryThe winner of the 2012-2013 Miami Law/Young ICCA scholarship award was Wamiq Chowdhury. Read more.


Professor Jan PaulssonProfessor Jan Paulsson, Michael Klein Distinguished Scholar Chair; International Arbitration Program Director. Read more.